As Kenya continues to expand both in population and economically, so are its cities and towns. The rural-urban migration has also seen the majority of people join cities from rural areas. Hence, here is a list of the top 10 largest cities in Kenya.

National Hospital Insurance Fund (NHIF) Offices: County, Town, and Contacts

This knowledge is key when making settlement and investment decisions. In most cases, bigger cities have better business opportunities than smaller ones.

Top 10 largest cities in Kenya.

10. Nyeri

Nyeri is a town in the central part of the country. Formerly the provincial headquarters for the central province, Nyeri has a population of 130,000.

The town is majorly agricultural due to the surrounding fertile farmlands.  It Is also currently the headquarters for Nyeri county

9. Meru

Meru is a town of 240, 000 People. Located in the upper eastern area, the town continues to expand as more people migrate to the area. It is the headquarters for Meru county and is also an agricultural town.

One of the crops grown in the area is miraa. A key cash crop for the majority of farmers in that area.

8. Garissa

Garissa is the largest town in the northeastern part of Kenya. Acting as the headquarters of Garissa county and formerly the provincial headquarters for the northeastern province, Garissa has a population of 120,000 people.

The major economic activity in Garissa is business and trade.

7. Malindi

Malindi sits along the coastal area of the country. This has made it a major tourist town due to access to beaches and the ocean. Malindi is in Kilifi county and has a population of 207,000 people.

6. Thika

Thika is a town in Kiambu county in the central part of Kenya. The town serves majorly as both an industrial and education hub in the country.

Its closeness to Nairobi has also made it a top choice for settlement by Kenyans helping with the expansion. The current population of the town is 250, 000 People.

5. Eldoret

Eldoret is both a sports and agricultural town that is located in the rift valley. The town is in the process of becoming a city. It is also among the towns in the country with an international airport.

The town serves as the headquarters for Eldoret county and has a population of 450,000 people.

Full list of All Regulated Banks in Kenya. Contacts, Postal, Physical, and Email addresses

4. Nakuru

Nakuru is the latest town to acquire city status in the country. Located in the rift valley, it is a major agricultural and tourism hub in the country. Some of the major tourist attractions include lake Nakuru and the national park.

It was a former provincial headquarters of Rift valley province and is currently the seat of Nakuru county. The city has a population of 550,000 people

3. Kisumu

As the third largest city in Kenya, Kisumu is located at the shore of Lake Victoria. It serves as the county headquarters for Kisumu county and was previously the provincial headquarters for Nyanza province.

The city is also served by an international airport making it among the few to have such a facility. Kisumu has a population of 600,000 people. Some of the main economic activities include fishing, tourism, and port services.

2. Mombasa

Mombasa is the second largest and oldest city in Kenya. It is home to the largest port in Kenya and has an international airport as well.

Due to its location on the shores of the Indian Ocean, the city is a major tourism and conferencing hub in the country. Previously, the city served as the provincial headquarters for the coast province.

However, it is currently the county headquarters for Mombasa county. The current population stands at 1.5 Million people.

1. Nairobi

Nairobi is not only the largest city in Kenya but also the capital. This is where Most government offices and foreign embassies are located.

With a population of 4 million people, Nairobi is by far the largest city not only in Kenya but also in East Africa.

It serves as a tourist, administrative, and transport hub in the country. One of the major tourist attraction sites in the city is the Nairobi national park.

Other than serving as the capital of Kenya, Nairobi is also the capital of Nairobi county. The city is home to the largest airport in the country. The Jomo Kenyatta International Airport.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *